Robinson Elementary School is located in the southwest corner
of Kirkwood, Missouri, about 10 miles west of St. Louis. Our school
community includes about students in grades K - 5.
Robinson Elementary School was built in 1929 as a three-story
brick building and officially welcomed children in the fall of
1930, the same year as Keysor Elementary.
The schools were both designed by school architect William B.
Ittner and are similar in their traditional style. The school was
formally named the George R. Robinson Elementary School to honor
a prominent community member. Mr. Robinson, co-founder of the Ralston
Danforth Commission Co., is remembered for his philanthropic contributions
and for establishing youth organizations in the Kirkwood Community.
Robinson School has expanded through building additions in 1937,
1949, 1953 and 1987. Renovations resulting from a 1993 bond issue
include technology infrastructure, air conditioning and interior
In the spring of 1997, the school officially opened the Robinson
Outdoor Learning Center, which was funded by the school's PTO and
built with labor and materials donated by parents and local businesses.
The Robinson School Community envisions a safe environment in
which every member will work together to develop and enhance their
unique strengths and abilities. Through high expectations and mutual
respect, we will foster lifelong learners who will support and
appreciate themselves, others and the world in which they live.
We conceptualize smaller classes that maximize use of optimal resources,
innovative technology, and challenging curricular materials to
create powerful, personalized learning experiences.